Posted in Blog, Color Shape Space, DÉCORATION, Inspirations, OUT & ABOUT

A Walk, A Church, A Door, Texture & The Color Lilac

One of the things I love doing when on a walk here in South West France, whether it be in town or country, is to explore the color and textures that surround us in our environment.

Let’s have a closer look at this church that I came across at St. Sabine.

“Yes, I thought, quite a nice little country church, typical for this area of South West France.”

But as we get nearer – a lilac door no less – I wonder who thought of that color so many years ago? — A closer look is in order, me thinks………..

What a lovely pale lilac – now fading gently over the countless seasons of hot summer sun on these metal doors:

I want to get up close and personal – Let’s Go!

What a Surprise – Graffiti that I had no idea was there when I took the photo. I think there must have been some budding artists in St. Sabine when this door was painted. What fabulous texture and use of color – and on a French country church yard.

Door St Sabine France

Ah, I’ve found another door at the side of the church

A wooden door here – old and peeling – but such a fabulous color and texture — Love it!

Well, this is just a little snippet of my observations on just one of the wonderful marked pathway walks we have here in South West France. This one is on the PR19, St Antonin Noble Val (post code 82140) round trip walk.

I took these photos with my ipad3 which I always take with me on my walks now, as you just never know what you will see.

Texture and color provide great influence for all sorts of projects – painting, decor, the picture and photo frames I make…… lots and lots of things. It’s worth keeping a record for the future – you just never know when it will come in useful!

More walking snippets to come later……………

Author:

Living & working in the hidden depths of South West France making photo and picture frames in our little studio at the bottom of the garden AND restoring a big old stone house - hard work, but totally enjoyable!

2 thoughts on “A Walk, A Church, A Door, Texture & The Color Lilac

  1. What a lovely article. Where in SW France are you. I am living here myself now. Ages since I saw what you are up to and I love all your frames. Must catch up.
    Best

    Miv

    1. Hello Miv,
      Great to hear from you again. We are living about 60 kms. north of Toulouse between Albi & Montauban in the commune of Penne. If you are ever in our area, do come and visit and have a look in our workshop – you never know what you might find!
      Cheers, Denise

Leave a Reply

